Vegan Stuffed Peppas

Let me just say that a few years ago, I would never EVER expect to see myself where I am today; and that’s standing in the kitchen cooking REAL FOOD! I absolutely hated cooking, took too much time and effort away from my “busy” life. Now, I have full control of the kitchen ( although at times I leave a mess after creating my masterpeice and my boyfriend – who has a slight touch of OCD- goes crazy, BUT that’s besides the point! I really do enjoy cooking homemade food not only for myself, but for my boyfriend and dog too! I love seeing them enjoy something that I, myself created – even if I simply just follow a recipe- ! So here is a simple recipe that I’m sure everyone will enjoy in your home ❤

 

Recipe:

1.  Colored Peppers ( however many you need)
2.  Jasmine Rice- about a cup
3. Dried Cranberries – 1 cup
4. Assorted beans – 5 cans or bags
5. Tofu- firm or soft ( my grocery store only sells firm, so that’s what I use)
6. Daiya Mozzarella Cheese- just enough to cover the tops of the peppers)
7. Cayenne Pepper
8. Mushrooms
9. Corn- 1-2 cans
10. Olive oil
11. Red Onion- 1
12. Frozen Spinach- OPTIONAL
13. Coconut oil – Optional

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350*: in a baking dish, put 1-2 teaspoons of olive oil to lightly coat the bottom: I then put about 1/4 of a cup of water at the bottom to. ( to keep the peppers moist and soft)
2. Cook rice separately ( if wanted- this is what I do so that the rice is cooked thoroughly) I put coconut oil in the water while the rice is boiling, makes it taste better!
2. Cut the tops of the peppers off, you can cut the stem off as well if you’d like. I prefer to leave mine on, just for decoration. Be sure to take all of the seeds out of the pepper!
3. In a saute pan, toss the mushrooms ( sliced), onions (chopped) and spinach in with some olive oil until soft.
4. Cut the tofu in cubes and toss in a bowl, with the beans, corn, dried cranberries, and rice (with a touch of cayenne pepper) until thoroughly combined.
5. Stuff each pepper with the tofu filling half way. Then fill the rest of the pepper with the mushroom, onion and spinach mixture.
6. Top the peppers with Daiya Cheese , and then place the tops of the peppers on or beside; Set in the oven for about an hour!
7. Last but not least ENJOY! I like to top my peppers with a dollop of VEGAN sour cream (Tofutti) just to give it more of a creamy texture!

 

Leave a Reply

